Tel: 084 854 3506

Follow us on Twitter Follow our activities and events on Facebook

Atterbury Trust to co-sponsor new North-South T20 tournament for schools’ cricket

07.08.2018 by Marketing Concepts

A brand-new T20 cricket tournament for schools from across South Africa is being launched in Pretoria on Monday 6 August, with the backing of leading South African property investor and developer Atterbury’s Atterbury Trust.

The North-South T20 schools cricket tournament, with AB de Villiers as ambassador, will take place during the September school holidays in and around Pretoria, and will see 16 schools facing off against each other in two divisions. The overall winning team will claim a prize-pot of R50 000 for their school to invest in its cricket offering and development programmes.

According to Zahn Hulme of the Atterbury Trust, the tournament fills an important gap in school sports. “There simply weren’t enough opportunities for players from the top cricket schools to compete against each other during the pre-season. We are passionate about creating opportunities and this unique tournament will enable players from different districts and backgrounds to share a constructive feast of cricket while building networks that could have future value for everyone.”

The unique format of north versus south also appealed to tournament sponsors Atterbury Trust, WEBUYCARS, WAD Holdings and Attacq.

“These companies have a countrywide footprint and we are both committed to creating opportunities for the youth, which is a responsibility that increasingly falls to the private sector in South Africa,” says Faan van der Walt from WEBUYCARS.

The eight South teams are Bishops Diocesan College, SACS, Wynberg Boys’ High and Paarl Gimnasium from the Cape; St Andrew’s College from Grahamstown; and Westville Boys’ High, Northwood School and Glenwood High from KwaZulu-Natal.

The North will be represented by Centurion, Menlopark and Waterkloof High Schools from Pretoria; Volkskool from Potchefstroom; Nelspruit and Rustenburg High Schools; Grey College from Bloemfontein and North Cape High from Kimberley.

De Villiers, along with the captains of all 16 teams, were at Monday’s launch at WEBUYCARS in Midstream; including those from further afield, who will be flown in courtesy of the sponsors.

The north-south cricket clash takes place in Pretoria, where international property company Atterbury has its roots.

The teams will all stay at Camp Discovery for the duration of the tournament, where a variety of activities are planned to allow the youngsters to network and get to know each other.

Joe Cloete of Centurion High, which is organising the logistics along with Menlopark and Waterkloof High, is excited at the timing of the tournament. “It is great to offer young cricketers from around the country the chance to practise their game skills in the popular T20 format. This way, they will be game fit and ready to give their best when the season starts,” he says.

The tournament takes place from 21 to 24 September and will become an annual event. Two North and two South teams will represent each of four groups in the initial draw, which will be @NoordSuidT20Skolekrieket confirmed on Monday at the launch. Each team will play three group games, after which the top two teams in each group will compete in the playoffs in a quarter-final, semi-final and final. The remaining eight teams then continue to compete in the plate Division.

In addition to the big prize for the winning team, the total prize-pot of R100 000 includes cash prizes for second and third places, as well as the Plate Division winners. IXU and Puma is sponsoring balls, cricket gear and daily prizes for star players.

Entrance to the games will be free of charge and for those who cannot get to the action in person, two games daily will be streamed live online by Pitchvision. For more information about times and venues, keep an eye on the North-South Facebook page @NoordSuidT20Skolekrieket.

Copyright2010 | Marketing Concepts | All Rights Reserved